Welcome

Welcome to the GeoSMS blog.

As a PhD student at RMIT’s School of Mathematical and Geospatial Sciences I needed a way to include spatial coordinates in an SMS. On the personal front, it took me half an hour to find someone at a music festival, and I thought there had to be a better way. On the academic front, I’m involved with a project looking at ways to report crime and perceptions of safety around Melbourne and thought that geotagged SMS would be a good solution.

Anyway, I looked around for an existing geotagged SMS standard but couldn’t find one. So I thought I’d write my own.

Luckily most of the hard work had been done by the geo: URI guys, whose standard was ratified by the IETF just a few months ago. My contribution was to put these URIs in an SMS and call it a standard. The GeoSMS standard.

It isn’t bound by any patents, trademarks, or copyrights, so I hope you find it useful.

About geosms

A PhD Candidate in Geospatial Sciences, at RMIT's School of Mathematical and Geospatial Sciences.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Welcome

  1. jussi says:

    The geo format in gsm is standardised by OMA 10 years ago. XML based schemas/DTDs are called MLP. ASN endoced MAP protocol also has relevant GEO formats – very much same way SMS. However, it never got popular service so there is room for new ideas. I’m wondering how the heck you got NZ Herald to list your idea as one of the big tech achievements?

  2. geosms says:

    I wasn’t aware of the OMA standard, despite doing a fairly thorough search. That’ll teach the GSM Association not to keep their documents behind a paywall!

    The XML schemas were too verbose for SMS, so I went with the IETF standard, which is compact and fairly human-readable.

    We sent the press release everywhere. I guess the NZ Herald picked it up because it was new (to nearly everyone) and was something that their readers could relate to.

  3. Pingback: Interesting tech for 20 September to 01 October 2010 — KnowIT

Leave a Reply

